Preparation - Mélaudia|Exp
Preparation - Mélaudia|Exp
Bonjour!

This is my first attempt preparing a 'Melaudia|Exp' Speaker. This speaker is not ready yet for the concours, but is very promising so far.

[Image: melaudia-exp1-400.jpg]

Speaker: vintage Philips Alnico driver.
Cabinet: approx 50 liters, two distributed ports (a modified Stig Carlsson design)
Impedance: 8 Ohms
Sensitivity: approx. 93dB

a+, Jo
Répondre
RE: Preparation - Mélaudia|Exp
Bonjour

Yesterday Thomas Noeltner - who is also in the concours with his famous Roiene - came to my place and we listened for a few minutes to my 'quick and dirty' Philips 9710 setup. I have modified the vintage Sonab cabinet a little e.g. reduced the damping. We tried both transistorized and tube amplification.

Ok - this speaker will come with us to Paris! But I am going on to find other 'hidden champions' (may be) Wink
I will not brush up the optics - this is a experimental speaker - Mélaudia|Exp Cool

Next device under test is a vintage Philips radio speaker from approx 1952. It is a cheap speaker but it has a lightweight membrane with high tone paper cone and a Alnico Magnet which is not very strong. It's frequency response is raising to the heights similar to the 9710.

This makes it probably suitable for my resonant cabinets. (in my fantasy)
I will report about the results later.

a+, Jo

Philips 9770 (this pair is taken from the collection of Thomas)

[Image: 9770-front-400.jpg]

[Image: 9770-membran-400.jpg]
Répondre
Bonjour

Here I have another experimental speaker using the vintage Philips 9770 in a old resonant cabinet of mine.

[Image: 9770reso400.jpg]

This simple driver sounds quite well with very little colouring. Absolutely stunning regarding the age of the speaker. It was made 1952.

But I want to do better and will also try fullrange speakers used today in PA applications such as background music systems built in the ceiling of a hotel lobby e.g.